Hi everyone!
I'm sorry it's been such a while since I've updated, but February passed by so quickly I have no idea where it went!
My exams finished at the end of January, and we got the first two weeks of February off. My results weren't as good as I had hoped, and it means some retakes in September when I get back to Belgium, but motivation is well up for the new semester! It was wonderful to have some true time off (which was really the first since about mid-August), where I got to spend 2 weeks skiing in Val Thorens in the French alps, first with just my boyfriend but then also with my family for the second week. It was really an amazing time with good food, and spending ALL day outside! A second plus was of course that it only took us about 4 hours total to get there, compared to the normal 10 hours by car from Brussels. We took the train from Lausanne, and the only reason we used 4 hours was that there was a snowstorm the night we arrived. Here are some pics from the beautiful 3 vallees area where I let myself completely disconnect from studying and the hectic every-day...
We had on and off good weather, but the bonus was probably the approximately 80cm of powder that came down while we were there, so that the off-piste was fantastic.
Now the second semester has started, and I have finished 2 out of 14 school weeks before the next exam period. Only a small amount of snow remains in the city now, and the weather is gradually getting warmer. I am soooo looking forward to spring! Just wearing a hoodie when I leave in the morning instead of the massive procedure that presents putting on massive coats and gloves and hats and whatnot. Also no ice in the hill outside my house... that will be good.
I do have some more company this semester as well, as my boyfriend is doing an internship in Vevey and is living in Lausanne for the next 5 months :) It's nice to get to spend some time together!
School has officially directed us to the cardiovascular system now, so it's all heart and lungs these days. For me it totally beats the neurosciences, and I think there might be a lurking cardiologist in me somewhere. This week we've learned to do ECGs, spirometry, and the basics in blood pressure and pulse points. Next week now is using our stethoscopes properly (yes I feel fabulous with it) as we learn about breath sounds and how to identify cardiac arrythmias.
So that's pretty much it, as I wait for warmer weather so I can start running in the forest, and maybe make use of the lake :)
OH but by the way, yesterday we went to the "Red Bull Crashed Ice" event which pretty much paralyzed the city this weekend. It's pretty much the most ridiculous sport I have ever seen, I had no idea "ice-cross" was a thing. Apparently though, it is, and we had a lot of fun watching!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2dvOHaciEnU
(Video from the event in 2009).
Pretty crazy, tons of people, and a lot of loud music!
I hope everyone has had a good start to March!
xoxo Therese
Koko! Så treige vi er med å kommentere innleggene dine! Detcer jo sá morsomt å lese! Herlige bilder fra ValTho ogsá, mimrer allerede! Godt det blir en skitur til før sesongen er over! Ha en fin helg!
ReplyDeleteMamseklem